Product Review : Kat Von D Lock It Tattoo Foundation

Courtesy from Sephora’s Website for the Description of this Product.

What it is:
A high-pigment foundation for full coverage with a long-lasting, beautiful finish. 

What it does:
Kat created this foundation to provide exceptional coverage, without compromising a smooth, striking finish. Formulated with 21 percent pigment, this powerful formula was developed to match a broad range of skintones with bold coverage—the proprietary pigments can even effectively cover tattoos. The combination of raw materials and the best siliconic elastomers and siliconic esters provide 24-hour wear with transfer resistance. Natural polymers absorb oil for a matte, soft finish and the added emollients provide a velvety texture for perfectly smooth, hydrated skin. 

What it is formulated WITHOUT:
– Parabens 
– Synthetic Fragrances 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I’ve been a long, devoted user of Make Up Forever’s Duo Mat Compact Foundation for about 6 years.

205 for summers

202 for winters

I usually have beef with liquid foundations because I have sensitive, combination skin and the moment that my skin does not agree with a product, it will make it known to the world. This could be in the form of acne, flakiness, or a rash.

My skin let’s it be known that it needs to be cared for correctly.

I had tried MUFE’s Mat Velvet + and HD invisible Cover

Mat Velvet + did me some justice until I started to oxidize on me making me look yellow/red and very flat, even with contouring and highlighting.

HD Invisible Cover filled every line and enlarged every pore on my face. It was not fun.

Since I started modeling again and the fact that I know a powder foundation isn’t going to last as long as I would like or make me not look like a cake face, I decided to take a leap to Sephora.

I had been eyeing this foundation since Kat Von D came out with her beauty line. I liked the idea that a tattoo artist formulated a foundation. This means I’m guaranteed coverage and staying power.

I got two shades. I got 46 and 52.

52 was meant to just last me for the summer months as I get a little darker. It’s too yellow for me.

46 matches me just right which was so weird.

I like that when you swatch the foundations on your forearm you can distinguish what hues are inside the product. 46 was differently a lot more pink then 48. Each of the foundations are kind of categorized as Light, Medium, and Deep and as you go higher in the numbers, it will fluctuate from being cool toned –> neutral –> warm then it goes into the next category.

I can honestly say I love this product.

Things to be mindful are:

– alittle goes a LONG way! Half a pump, dab it on your face and spread. Wait a couple of seconds and see if you need more.

– It’s thick and will be a pain to blend if you do not properly and thoroughly exfoliate and moisturize your skin.

– some of the colors will oxidize weirdly or later in the day. My 52 got a lot more warm/yellow/darker after maybe 3 hours of wear.

– it’s not going to stay if you’re going to get wet. I went swimming for a water shoot and my foundation was smearing and hanging on to stay on my face

-Coverage is build able as long as you know where you want more. It will look like you have foundation on if you put too much in certain places. You can still see my freckles but not as much.

– Do use a setting powder. I used a translucent powder because the foundation is a bit sticky.

Lock It #52Lock It #46

Leave a Reply

