Modeling : It’s not that Simple

So I’ve been modeling with some trigger happy photographers and it’s done wonders for me mentally, physically, and emotionally.

I started modeling when I was 16 when an uncle from Korean wanted to showcase some necklaces and bracelets. Needless to say, at the time I had a giraffe neck and decently well-kept hands. So I became his model for  one night and stood by to watch the amazing process of photoshop unravel before my eyes.

The jewels became a little brighter, sharper, clearer.

My neck become an even tone of pink light beige.

My hands became soft and my veins weren’t as prominent.

My eyes grew.

Every since then, I’ve fallen in love with modeling as an art form.

Yes, technically speaking a model is a manikin. But it’s also supposed to be a representation which people forget.

A model is supposed to help a photographer relay a certain story through a photo.

Sadness.

Envy.

Happiness.

Yearning.

Pain.

All of these are EMOTIONS.

You’ll see some emotions/looks more frequently than others but most of the time, photographers try not to have one particular type of photo.

A beach shoot isn’t going to rely the same as a film noir inspired shoot.

I hate it when people pass judgement on someone simply because they actually model. Meaning, instagram is not your platform.

You go out, find reputable and respectful photographers, and take photos that tell a story and not just showcase a pretty face or beautiful body. Anyone can do that. “Beauty is in the eye of the Beholder” after all.

I think people need to understand that modeling is a physically, mentally, and emotionally draining JOB.

You must stay FIT. Not SKINNY. FIT. I understand most fashion models look like emaciated horses. That doesn’t fly with me. I used to look like one then all sorts of bad things happened to my body and my mind. I lost having my period for a good couple of months. My hair thinned out. I was always tired. I became obsessive with doing as much cardio and counting every single thing I put in my mouth. In the end, my bone structure and composition does not allow me to achieve the stereotypical fashion model body. Why? Because my body measurements aren’t small enough for some designers. Designers make pieces with as less material as possible to save cost and time. They need very thin models to be able to save money.

I’ve done fashion shoots and I’ve done a catwalk and fashion show. I can absolutely tell you that I was the only Asian female model that still had a womanly shape. I still had my hips and waist. One other Asian model was a completely twig. Her face sunken. She was bout an inch or two taller then me. I’m 5’9-5’9.5. At the time I was 125lb. Can you imagine a 5’10 or 5’11 woman being so skinny that she has no womanly curves and has a sunken face? That’s not healthy. That’s the price some people pay.

Unfortunately the fashion community is retarded when it comes to changing the perspective and mentality when it comes to models. Emotionally and mentally, models will become obsessive in trying to modify or maintain an particular shape.

Glamour models are the ones you see that are “full figured”, have a coke bottle body. Full breasts, shapely hips, tiny waist, and full butt. Bikinis. Go Gos. Dancers for Videos. The luxury models I call them.  They portray what a woman should look like while being glamorized in a world full of money, power, and wealth. These models may augment their breasts, tuck their tummies, augment their butts, just because they have to compete with other “nicer” shaped glamour models. There isn’t a height requirement/standard but typically these girls are around 5’5 – 5’7. The shorter you are, the more likely you will have a curvy body composition dependent on your race.

As I previously noted, fashion models will go as far a eat juice dipped cotton balls, become Bulimic or anorexic, resort to stimulants to curb appetite, and other colorful pills to stay skinny. I cannot tell you how many times I’ve over heard girls share their secrets to stay thin or getting THINNER.

I write this post because I want people to be aware that modeling isn’t always glamorous. Models aren’t to be judged.  If one wants to pursue modeling, I suggest they research long and hard if they want to invest themselves in this competitive field. You realistically only have a shelf life of 25-30 years depending how good your genes are.

 

ImageImage

Leave a Reply

