Careful Words

I’m bluntly honest with people that I care about in my life.

I honestly don’t give a damn about whether or not someone that I will probably never meet again questions if I’m lying or not.

My roommate told me that I’m too nice and I’m too honest when it comes to people that I choose to keep in my inner circle.

I’m a private person in terms of who I let into my detailed life. Blogging only really tips the iceberg of craziness.

Yes I’m not going to tell one of my girlfriend’s that her green shirt looks like the color of fresh vegetable barf. I’ll probably somehow eloquently say that her shirt isn’t the most ideal piece of garment to wear. If anything I just find her something better.

I guess no matter how honest someone is, there are just some people that can’t handle the truth even though theoretically everyone wants to hear it to some degree. The inability to handle to complete truth gives birth to these beautiful twins: white lies and half truths!

Don’t get me wrong, I’m just as human as any other two legged, sentimental, sensory adept creature as the next one but we all know we have to be picky with our words or phrase something a certain way. Some people say that they don’t want to hurt someone’s feelings. Yes, that’s understandable but then, to what degree can you stretch the truth ?

I got told today that human beings are selfish and there really isn’t a point to trust or give them the benefit of the doubt.

OUCH. Well isn’t that person just a ray of sunshine!?

Yes I understand humans are selfish, if we weren’t we’d all be dead. We’re selfish either for knowledge or sustenance. What’s the point in not trusting people when we all have to establish some sort of relationship with others in order to survive in society? And we all know we make mistakes or make bad choices and people are remorseful and acknowledge what  they did wrong and want to make up for their mistakes. Some more than others try to and with varying levels of  quality effort.

Maybe it’s because I’m about to turn 20 that I need to stop being nice to people or giving them a second chance if they broke my trust. Some call me naive and some call me crazy. However, at the end of the day, I grew up with the mentality that I should treat others how I want to be treated and follow my gut. Not heart or brain. Gut. Maybe the brain will aid in the decision making at some point.

Leave a Reply

