Love, not War

Image

You know what  sucks? Arguing.

You know what sucks more than just arguing? Arguing with people that you actually care about and that with every hurtful word, it’s a lashing to your heart.

I loathe arguing. It’s always about who is ‘right’ and who is ‘wrong’. So what? What happens next after who is ‘right’ and who is ‘wrong’ is decided? Is it to prove a point? Is it to boost your ego? I don’t get it.

I can understand if there is a misunderstanding and if someone admits they heard the other person wrong but usually people say, ‘it’s my bad’ instead of ‘I’m wrong’. Why spend so much energy on something negative instead of being able to calmly look at the issue at hand and actually talk it out? Why is it so difficult to just get over ourselves and figure out how to mend what has been damaged or torn?

I admit that I sometimes let my emotions get the best of me but only when I’ve been pushed by someone that I care about. There’s only so much someone can take until things start flying across the room. ( I don’t mean objects people ) The fact that I let my emotions escape from me shows that I actually give a damn about the person I’m arguing with and that I’m hurting in my own way. People can’t say their pain is more painful.  People can’t say their life is harder.

Why?

Because we don’t live their lives. We don’t know how they think. We don’t truly know why they act the way they do. All we can do is listen. Listen and empathize. To what extent we actually listen and empathize with someone is solely depend on you and how much you want the person to be in your life.

I love Bob Marley. Yeah I’m not as much of a devout fan as some other people are but who’s to say how I feel about Bob Marley is really  considered love or not? I mean, I’m not the type of person that can sit in a room and memorize a song or continuously read about his life. I just can’t. What I can do is actually listen. I listen to the words he’s spoken. I listen to the actions he’s made. I think that’s what counts.

“Life is one big road with lots of signs. So when you riding through the ruts, don’t complicate your mind. Flee from hate, mischief and jealousy. Don’t bury your thoughts, put your vision to reality. ”  -Bob Marley

Leave a Reply

